Episodes

  • Jessica Payne has just published her first novel, Make Me Disappear, a psychological thriller about a woman who arranges her own kidnapping. Jessica is the host of #MomsWritersClub, on YouTube and Twitter, where she discusses the issues around writing and being a mom.
    Show notes:
    Jessica Payne (https://jessicapayne.net)
    MomsWritersClub (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFHfWLYYSC9RCLPIhPm-TyQ)
    Jaime Lynn Hendricks: It Could Be Anyone (https://linktr.ee/jaimelynnhendricks)
    Janelle Brown: I'll Be You (https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/568238/ill-be-you-by-janelle-brown/)
    Nita Prose: The Maid (https://www.nitaprose.com)
    Catherine McKenzie: Please Join Us (https://catherinemckenzie.com/books/please-join-us/)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • April Henry is the author of more than two dozen mysteries and thrillers for teens and adults. Her novels have won prizes, been shortlisted for other prizes, and have been translated into ten languages. She knows two dozen different ways to kill you.
    Show notes:
    April Henry (https://www.aprilhenry.com/)
    Two Truths and a Lie (https://www.aprilhenry.com/two-truths-and-a-lie.html)
    Gin Phillips: Fierce Kingdom (https://ginphillips.com/books/fierce-kingdom/)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • Missing episodes?

    Click here to refresh the feed.

  • Damon Young is a philosopher, poet, and an author of fiction for children. As a philosopher, he has written about reading, the garden, and sex, and he has also written a half-dozen children's books. He also writes regularly for newspapers and magazines, and is a frequent guest on radio and TV.
    Show notes:
    Damon Young (https://www.damonyoung.com.au)
    Philosophy in the Garden (https://www.damonyoung.com.au/philosophy-in-the-garden)
    Damon Young on sword fighting (https://www.damonyoung.com.au/post/damon-the-sword-guy)
    John Williams: Stoner (https://www.nyrb.com/products/stoner-50th-anniversary-edition-1)
    Patrick O'Brian: The Complete Aubrey/Maturin Novels (https://wwnorton.co.uk/books/9780393060119-the-complete-aubrey-maturin-novels)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • Charles Shields is a biographer of mid-century American novelists and writers. After a career teaching, and writing histories and biographies for young people, Shields has written several biographies of American authors, the most recent of which is about playwright Lorraine Hansberry, author of Raisin in the Sun.
    Show notes:
    Charles J. Shields (https://charlesjshields.net/author)
    Lorraine Hansberry: The Life Behind A Raisin in the Sun (https://charlesjshields.net/product/lorraine-hansberry)
    The Many Visions of Lorraine Hansberry (New Yorker) (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2022/01/24/the-many-visions-of-lorraine-hansberry)
    Organize Your Scrivener Project with the Corkboard (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/blog/organize-your-scrivener-project-with-the-corkboard)
    The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_History_of_the_Decline_and_Fall_of_the_Roman_Empire)
    Mary Beard, Women & Power (https://profilebooks.com/work/women-power/)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • Annie Finch is a poet, writer, critic, editor, playwright, librettist, translator, and witch. She has written poetry, criticism, memoirs, and works on meter and form, and is the founder of Poetry Witch Community, where she teaches meter, scansion, and magic.
    Show notes:
    Annie Finch (https://anniefinch.com)
    Poetry Witch Blog (https://anniefinch.com/blog/)
    The Poetry Witch Little Book of Spells (https://anniefinch.com/poetry-witch-little-book-of-spells/)
    Louise Labé: Complete Poetry and Prose (https://press.uchicago.edu/ucp/books/book/chicago/C/bo3662311.html)
    Occasioning Poetry (https://www.poetryfoundation.org/harriet-books/2009/04/occasioning-poetry)
    Heide Göttner-Abendroth: Matriarchal Societies, Studies on Indigenous Cultures Across the Globe (https://www.peterlang.com/document/1051053)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • Charlie Stross is a prolific author of science fiction and fantasy. He has written more than two dozen novels, has won three Hugo awards, and has been nominated for many other awards, including the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and the Japanese Seiun Award.
    Show notes:
    Charlie Stross (https://www.antipope.org/charlie/blog-static/)
    Write Now with Scrivener, Episode No. 1: Peter Robinson (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/blog/write-now-with-scrivener-podcast-episode-1-peter-robinson-author-of-the-alan-banks-crime-fiction-series)
    Write Now with Scrivener, Episode No. 2: Dan Moren (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/blog/write-now-with-scrivener-episode-no-2-dan-moren-science-fiction-author-journalist-and-podcaster)
    Scrivener and Microsoft Word: Importing & Exporting (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/blog/scrivener-and-microsoft-word-importing-exporting)
    Regular expression - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regular_expression)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • Nicole Kronzer is an author of young adult novels, a high school teacher, and a former actor. Her first novel, Unscripted, was named a Best Book for Young Adults by the American Library Association.
    Show notes:
    Nicole Kronzer (https://www.nicolekronzer.com)
    Unscripted (https://www.nicolekronzer.com/unscripted)
    The Loft Literary Center (https://loft.org)
    Nina Lacour, Yerba Buena (https://www.ninalacour.com)
    Brandy Colbert, The Only Black Girls in Town, The Voting Booth (https://www.brandycolbert.com)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • Maggie Shipstead's latest novel has been shortlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize. Great Circle is a novel of love and loss and adventure, focusing on a woman pilot in the early days of flying, and an actress portraying her in the present.
    Show notes:
    Maggie Shipstead (https://www.maggieshipstead.com)
    Great Circle (https://www.maggieshipstead.com/books#/greatcircle/)
    Booker Prize (https://thebookerprizes.com/the-booker-library/books/great-circle)
    Colson Whitehead, Sag Harbor (https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/189755/sag-harbor-by-colson-whitehead/)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • Having worked as a police intelligence analyst in the UK, Elizabeth Haynes knows a lot about crime. She has written a half dozen novels, all of which she started during NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).
    Show notes:
    Elizabeth Haynes (http://www.elizabeth-haynes.com)
    You, Me & the Sea (https://myriadeditions.com/books/you-me-and-the-sea/)
    Lost Lives, Lisa Cutts (https://www.simonandschuster.co.uk/books/Lost-Lives/Lisa-Cutts/9781471168291)
    NaNoWriMo (https://nanowrimo.org)
    The Last House on Needless Street, Catriona Ward (https://serpentstail.com/work/the-last-house-on-needless-street/)
    The Lamplighters, Emma Stonex (https://www.panmacmillan.com/authors/emma-stonex/the-lamplighters/9781529047318)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • With a day job as a designer for one of the world's largest software companies, Christian Cantrell knows how computer technology works, and his novels are full of cutting-edge ideas. He explores science and technology that don’t yet exist in order to put characters in situations in which they can discover things about themselves that would otherwise have been impossible.
    Show notes:
    Christian Cantrell (https://christiancantrell.com/)
    Scorpion (https://christiancantrell.com/#writing)
    47North (https://amazonpublishing.amazon.com/47north.html)
    Terry Hayes: I Am Pilgrim (https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/I-Am-Pilgrim/Terry-Hayes/9781439177730)
    Hao Jingfang: Folding Beijing (https://uncannymagazine.com/article/folding-beijing-2/)
    Markus Zusak: The Book Thief (https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/196153/the-book-thief-anniversary-edition-by-markus-zusak/)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • After a career in publishing, from being a publicist to senior editor, Annik Lafarge is now a consultant and advisor to authors. Her latest book is Chasing Chopin: A Musical Journey Across Three Centuries, Four Countries, and a Half-Dozen Revolutions. Annik talks about how important it is for authors to help market their books.
    "I honestly don't think I could have written this book without without Scrivener."
    Show notes:
    Annik Lafarge (https://anniklafarge.com)
    Chasing Chopin (https://whychopin.com/about-chasing-chopin/)
    David Bellos: The Novel of the Century, The Extraordinary Adventure of Les Misérables (https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/181/181795/the-novel-of-the-century/9780241954478.html)
    Michael Gorra, Portrait of a Novel, Henry James and the Making of an American Masterpiece (https://wwnorton.com/books/Portrait-of-a-Novel/)
    Tony Horwitz, Confederates in the Attic, Dispatches From the Unfinished Civil War (https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/82976/confederates-in-the-attic-by-tony-horwitz/)
    Scott Huler, Defining the Wind, The Beaufort Scale and How a 19th-Century Admiral Turned Science Into Poetry (https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/84279/defining-the-wind-by-scott-huler/)
    Catherine Raven, Fox & I (https://www.spiegelandgrau.com/065447811953/projects)
    Maggie O'Farrell, Hamnet (https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/612385/hamnet-by-maggie-ofarrell/)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • J.T. Ellison has written more than 25 novels: standalone thrillers, three series, and has recently published the first in a series of co-authored young adult novels. She co-hosts a literary TV show, and is also a publisher. She also "loves Scrivener with the passion of a thousand fiery suns."
    Show notes:
    J.T. Ellison (https://www.jtellison.com)
    Latest book: Her Dark Lies (https://www.jtellison.com/her-dark-lies)
    @thrillerchick (https://twitter.com/thrillerchick)
    A Word on Words (https://awordonwords.org) (TV show)
    Jeff Abbott (https://jeffabbott.com)
    Story Planner (https://www.storyplanner.com)
    The Wine Vixen (https://www.thewinevixen.com)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • Dan Moren juggles a triple career: that of a science fiction author, tech journalist, and podcaster. He discusses his the "sci-fi espionage capers" he writes, how he transitioned from journalism to fiction, and how he has used Scrivener to write each of his novels. Show notes:Dan Moren (https://dmoren.com)Latest novel: The Aleph Extraction (https://dmoren.com/the-aleph-extraction/)My writing finances, 2020 (https://dmoren.com/2021/01/05/my-writing-finances-2020/)Create Custom Templates for Your Scrivener Projects (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/blog/create-custom-templates-for-your-scrivener-projects)Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).

  • We welcome Peter Robinson, best-selling author of the Alan Banks crime series. Peter has written more than two dozen novels, and discusses his characters, how he uses music in his novels, and how Scrivener helps him manage his manuscripts.
    Show notes:
    Peter Robinson (https://inspectorbanks.com)
    Latest novel: Not Dark Yet (https://inspectorbanks.com/books/not-dark-yet-2021/)
    Bob Dylan: Not Dark Yet (https://www.bobdylan.com/songs/not-dark-yet/)
    Learn more about Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener/overview), and check out the ebook Take Control of Scrivener (https://www.literatureandlatte.com/store).
    If you like the podcast, please follow it in Apple Podcasts (https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/write-now-with-scrivener/id1568550068) or your favorite podcast app. Leave a rating or review, and tell your friends. And check out past episodes of Write Now with Scrivener (https://podcast.scrivenerapp.com).